Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeTrack LeaguesReportsWellington Track League - Round 5 2012

Wellington Track League – Round 5 2012


Ollie Jones dug deep to produce a terrific sprint at the end of a fast night’s racing at round five of the Burkes Cycles Speed League to win the 15-lap all-in Handicap Scratch. Jones just pipped seniors’ championship leader Nick Warren on the line.


Starting nearly a lap down the A grade riders had to work hard to catch the B and C graders, but didn’t work smoothly as a team, the group fragmenting and coming back together before they bridged the gap with six laps to go.

An attack by Peter Moore was chased down and on the bell lap it was Warren who lead it out, but he couldn’t hold off under 17 rider Jones. Steve Chapman was third and Jon Barnes, the under 17s overall category leader, fourth.

Jones also won the A grade Elimination and was second behind Warren in the 10-lap scratch. Russell Fairbrass won the super-quick 2-lap Sprinters’ Scratch

Ben Humphries had a successful night in the B-grade, winning the 8-lap Scratch and coming second in both the Elimination and Sprinters’ Scratch events, which was won by Pat Garrett who attacked early for a class solo win.

Renita Vanderhelm won the C grade Sprinters’ Scratch to help put her back in the frame in the women’s overall competition, currently led by Holly Blakely.

There is just one Speed League left before we break for Christmas until January 20, 2013 so make sure you’re at the Wellington Velodrome on December 16 for round six!

Current overall leaders after Round 5 and wearers of the Champion System leaders’ jerseys are:

Senior: Nick Warren (63pts)

Female: Holly Blakely (34pts)

Under 17: Jon Barnes (66pts)

Under 15: Oliver Wood (41pts)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here