Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeChampions LeagueUCI Track Champions League Season 1 - Entry List

UCI Track Champions League Season 1 – Entry List


The opening round of the new UCI Track Champions League is scheduled for the 6th of November 6 at the Velòdrom Illes Balears in Palma, Mallorca – and we now know who will be there.

The organisers have announced the remaining 50 riders to join the list of 22 pre-qualified athletes, which included Harrie Lavreysen, Jeffrey Hoogland, Katie Archibald, Kirsten Wild, Ed Clancy and Emma Hinze. The final 72 riders, spanning 30 nationalities, hold ten Olympic Gold medals and 63 UCI Track Cycling World Championship titles between them.

Of the today’s 50 riders, 48 qualified for the League predominantly on their strong results at last week’s Tissot UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Roubaix, France. Two more pre-qualified riders complete the 72 rider puzzle. All riders will compete for equal prize money in the new TV-focused, short-format series.

Among the names today confirmed to ride the women’s sprint category are Lea Sophie Friedrich of Germany – winner of 3 Gold medals at the Worlds, Tokyo 2020 Bronze medallist Lauriane Genest of Canada and Daria Shmeleva of Russia – Olympic medallist, multiple UCI World Champion and European Champion. They’re joined by Sophie Capewell of Great Britain, Yana Tyshchenko of Russia, Mina Sato of Japan and Anastasiia Voinova of Russia – all of whom medalled at the Worlds.

Qualified riders from the Men’s Sprint include former European champion Mateusz Rudyk of Poland, Tokyo 2020 Bronze medallist and Roubaix Silver medallist Rayan Helal of France, as well as two-time World Champion Stefan Bötticher of Germany, also a medallist in Roubaix.

Among those who have qualified for the Women’s Endurance category are Under 23 European Road Race Champion Silvia Zanardi of Italy, 2021 European Points Race Champion and Tokyo 2022 Bronze medallist Gulnaz Khatuntseva of Russia and Yumi Kajihara – Silver medallist in the Omnium at Tokyo 2020 and 2020 World Champion.

The Men’s Endurance riders include Tuur Dens of Belgium, Luri Leitao of Portugal, Rhys Britton of Great Britain Italy’s Michele Scartezzini – all medallists at the UCI Track Worlds in Roubaix.


Sprint – Women:

Lauriane Genest (Canada)
Lea Friedrich (Germany)
Miriam Vece (Italy)
Martha Bayona Pineda (Colombia)
Riyu Ohta (Japan)
Sophie Capewell (Great Britain)
Yana Tyshchenko (Russia)
Daria Shmeleva (Russia)
Laurine Van Riessen (Netherlands)
Anastasiia Voinova (Russia)
Mina Sato (Japan)
Yuli Paola Verdugo Osuna (Mexico)
Emma Hinze (Germany)
Mathilde Gros (France)
Simona Krupeckaitė (Lithuania)
Kelsey Mitchell (Canada)
Shanne Braspennincx (Netherlands)
Olena Starikova (Ukraine)

Sprint – Men:

Jean Spies (South Africa)
Mateusz Rudyk (Poland)
Jair Tjon En Fa (Suriname)
Tom Derache (France)
Jordan Castle (New Zealand)
Kevin Quintero Chavarro (Colombia)
Mikhail Yakovlev (Russia)
Kento Yamasaki (Japan)
Rayan Helal (France)
Stefan Bötticher (Germany)
Jai Angsuthasawit (Thailand)
Hugo Barrette (Canada)
Harrie Lavreysen (Netherlands)
Nicholas Paul (Trinidad & Tobago)
Jeffrey Hoogland (Netherlands)
Vasilijus Lendel (Lithuania)
Maximilian Levy (Germany)
Denis Dmitriev (Russia)

Endurance – Women:

Maggie Coles-Lyster (Canada)
Hanna Tserakh (Belarus)
Tania Calvo (Spain)
Michelle Andres (Switzerland)
Alžbeta Bačíková (Slovakia)
Gulnaz Khatuntseva (Russia)
Emily Kay (Ireland)
Silvia Zanardi (Italy)
Karolina Karasiewicz (Poland)
Maria Martins (Portugal)
Olivija Baleisyte (Lithuania)
Eukene Larrarte (Spain)
Yumi Kajihara (Japan)
Kirsten Wild (Netherlands)
Katie Archibald (Great Britain)
Anita Yvonne Stenberg (Norway)
Annette Edmondson (Australia)
Kendall Ryan (USA)

Endurance – Men:

Tuur Dens (Belgium)
Rhys Britton (UK)
Roy Eefting (Netherlands)
Alan Banaszek (Poland)
Jules Hesters (Belgium)
Gavin Hoover (USA)
Michele Scartezzini (Italy)
Kazushige Kuboki (Japan)
Claudio Imhof (Switzerland)
Aaron Gate (New Zealand)
Iuri Leitao (Portugal)
Erik Martorell Haga (Spain)
Ed Clancy (Great Britain)
Sebastian Mora (Spain)
Corbin Strong (New Zealand)
Yacine Chalel (Algeria)
Kelland O’Brien (Australia)
Rotem Tene (Israel)

Race Calendar:

Round 1: November 6, Mallorca / Velòdrom Illes Balears, Spain

Round 2: November 27. Panevézys / Cido Arena, Lithuania

Round 3: December 3, London / Lee Valley VeloPark, Great Britain

Round 4: December 4, London / Lee Valley VeloPark, Great Britain

Round 5: December 11, Tel Aviv / Sylvan Adams National Velodrome, Israel


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here