Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeMastersUCI World Masters Track Championships 2015 - Day 1

UCI World Masters Track Championships 2015 – Day 1


The Gold medals on day 1 of the 2015 UCI World Masters Track Cycling Championships at the Manchester Velodrome went to riders on both sides of the world with no one country dominating. USA, France, Australia, Latvia and Great Britain all triumphed on the opening day of the championships where riders from over 30 country’s are taking part.


With a new World Masters Best Time for the age group (subject to ratification), Scotland’s Bruce Croall won the Men’s Time Trial 35 – 39 Years over the distance of one kilometre (4 Laps) with a world class time in any age category of 1.03.959. He was over a second clear of Henrik Scharling of Denmark (1.05.527) and Arnaud Duble (France).

There was gold for Latvia when a regular on the World Cup scene not that many years ago, Ainars Kiksis won the 750 metre time trial for the 40-44 age group over three laps of the Manchester track with a time of 48.602, well clear of the silver medalist from Ireland, Terry Mackin (50.242) and Britain’s Adam Welch.

The USA struck Gold with  Russell Murphy winning the Men’s Scratch Race for the 55 – 59 years age group which was contested over 7.5Km or 30 Laps of the Manchester Velodrome. He beat two riders from Down Under, New Zealand’s Grant Tyrell and Graeme Peadon (Australia) to the top spot.


The final of the Mens 60/64 Scratch race over ,5000 metres (20 Laps) was won by Ivan Colig of Australia from Jean Louis Duble of France and James Rutherford of Great Britain. Meanwhile, the Men’s Team Sprint for 65 and over was won by France with a time of 57.439 (Michel Briat, Gerard Van Den Abele, Gerard Louis Robert) who beat Denmark who completed the distance in  1.00.589. Their line up was Bent Christiansen, Preben Dalsgaard, Steffen Munch Hansen. The USA withReid Schwartz, Steve Troseth, and James Kloss were third.


The day also saw the early rounds of the 50-54 Men’s Sprint where Geoff Stoker (Australia), Brian Abers (USA), Chris Pyatt (GBR) and Adrian Dent (GBR) all made it through to the semi finals which will be held on day 2.


LIVE VIDEO: Finals & Podiums


Mens 55/59 Scratch: Russell Murphy USA

Mens 35/39 TT: Bruce Croall GBR

Mens 40/44 TT: Ainars Kiksis LAT

Mens 60/64 Scratch: Gold – Ivan Colig, Australia

Mens Team Sprint (65+): France (Michel Briat, Gerard Van Den Abele, Gerard Louis Robert)


Mens 60/64 Scratch

1 Ivan Colig AUS

2 Jean Louis Duble FRA

3 James Rutherford GBR

4 Patrick Gellineau USA

5 Ian Humphreys GBR

6 Tom Daly IRL

7 Steve Davies GBR

8 Shannon Fox USA

9 David Smith GBR

10 Brian O’Kelly GBR

11 Bob Barber GBR

12 Don Huyser AUS

13 Mark Minting GBR

14 John Manning GBR

15 Chris Davis GBR

Mens Time Trial 40 – 44 Years

1 Ainars Kiksis LAT 48.602

2 Terry Mackin IRL 50.242

3 Adam Welch GBR 50.579

4 Jeremy Pile GBR 51.400

5 Alfred Rooks NED 51.450

6 Michael Smith AUS 51.684

7 Alessandro Picco ITA 52.086

8 Keith Bryceland GBR 52.300

9 Lee Suthard GBR 52.326

10 Martin Ruepp SUI 52.439

11 Christos Rantos GRE 52.443

12 Kev Babakian AUS 52.478

13 Geoffroy Soulaine FRA 52.753

14 Tommi Nieminen FIN 53.029

15 Hugo Alfredo Auge ARG 53.046

16 Sebastien Thery FRA 54.389

17 Edzard Boland NED 55.219

18 James Roberts GBR 55.402

19 Jason Streather GBR 55.514

20 Michael Dancel USA 55.956

Mens Time Trial 35 – 39 Years 1Km (4 Laps)

1 Bruce Croall GBR 1.03.959 ***

2 Henrik Scharling DEN 1.05.527

3 Arnaud Duble FRA 1.06.378

4 Ethan Boyes USA 1.07.666

5 Juhani Tammisto FIN 1.08.220

6 Jonathan Harris GBR 1.08.857

7 Julien Muselet FRA 1.09.090

8 Lauri Arte FIN 1.09.555

9 Hamish Wright NZL 1.09.573

10 Axel Boland NED 1.10.158

11 Bruno Tanjon FRA 1.10.265

12 Alvin Cobb USA 1.11.647

13 Fabio Rossetto BRA 1.12.046

14 Andrew Kruse USA 1.12.242

15 Christopher Holt GBR 1.12.933

16 Alan Holmes GBR 1.13.327

17 Nick Caton GBR 1.14.116

Mens Scratch Race 55 – 59 Years

7.5Km (30 Laps)


1 Russell Murphy USA

2 Grant Tyrell NZL

3 Graeme Peadon AUS

4 Manuel Gallardo CHI

5 Ivor Reid GBR

6 David Whitehall GBR

7 Ken Roesner GBR

8 Gerrit Schepers RSA

9 Gerard Carrette FRA

10 Graham Barclay GBR

11 Steve Wilkinson GBR

12 Sylvan Adams CAN

13 Mark Sommers USA

14 Christopher Tomlinson GBR

15 Keir Apperley GBR

16 Neil Familton NZL

17 Ian Donohue GBR

18 Uwe Rübling GER

19 Keith Jones GBR

20 Thierry Manicourt FRA

21 Ferruccio Veschetti ITA

22 Glen Heuvel RSA

Race Time: 09:28

Mens Team Sprint 65 Plus Years

1 France  57.439

Michel Briat, Gerard Van Den Abele, Gerard Louis Robert

2. Denmark 1.00.589

Bent Christiansen, Preben Dalsgaard, Steffen Munch Hansen

3. USA

Reid Schwartz, Steve Troseth, James Kloss

Mens Sprint 50 – 54 Years

200m Qualifying Flying Time Trial (3½ Laps)

1  Geoff Stoker AUS 11.106

2  Brian Abers USA 11.234

3  Adrian Dent GBR 11.351

4  Roberto Dardi ITA 11.360

5  Christopher Pyatt GBR 11.481

6  Matthew Diefenbach USA 11.500

7  Mark Wiffen GBR 11.592

8  Bruno Mery FRA 11.720

9  Thomas Donohue USA 11.727

10  Guy Mansio FRA 11.750

11  Gustavo Faris ARG 11.832

12  Pascal Chargros FRA 11.874

13  Geoffrey Baxter AUS 11.912

14  Harvey Jackson GBR 12.117

15  Andis Lejins LAT 12.405

16  Robert Francis USA 12.748

17  Michael Köhler GER 13.324

18  Christopher Welham GBR 14.526

Round 1

1st  Geoff Stoker AUS 13.064

2nd  Pascal Chargros FRA

3rd  Christopher Welham GBR

1st  Brian Abers US A 12.562

2nd  Gustavo Faris ARG

3rd  Michael Köhler GER

1st  Adrian Dent GB R 12.100

2nd  Guy Mansio FRA

3rd  Robert Francis USA

1st  Thomas Donohue US A 12.099

2nd  Roberto Dardi ITA

3rd  Andis Lejins LAT

1st  Christopher Pyatt GB R 11.556

2nd  Harvey Jackson GBR

3rd  Bruno Mery FRA

1st  Matthew Diefenbach US A 12.296

2nd  Geoffrey Baxter AUS

3rd  Mark Wiffen GBR

Round 1 Repechage winners

Bruno Mery FRA, Harvey Jackson GBR, Gustavo Faris ARG, and Roberto Dardi ITA

Round 2

1st  Geoff Stoker AUS 12.463

2nd  Matthew Diefenbach USA

3rd  Roberto Dardi ITA

1st  Christopher Pyatt GBR 11.914

2nd  Brian Abers USA

3rd  Bruno Mery FRA

1st  Adrian Dent GBR 12.250

2nd  Thomas Donohue USA

3rd  Harvey Jackson GBR

4th  Gustavo Faris ARG

Round 2 Repechage

1st  Matthew Diefenbach USA 12.518

2nd  Harvey Jackson GBR

3rd  Bruno Mery FRA

1st  Brian Abers USA 12.363

2nd  Gustavo Faris ARG

3rd  Roberto Dardi ITA

4th  Thomas Donohue USA

Round 2 Repec
harge Final

1st  Brian Abers USA 11.936

2nd  Matthew Diefenbach USA


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here