Saturday, June 22, 2024
HomeWorld ChampionshipsReports2013 UCI Track Cycling World Championships - Day 1 - Afternoon

2013 UCI Track Cycling World Championships – Day 1 – Afternoon


The opening session of the first day of the 2013 UCI Track Cycling World Championships kicked off at the Minsk Arena this afternoon with qualifying sessions for the Men’s Team Pursuit and the Women’s Individual Pursuit. With both events decided in this evening’s session – which will also see the Women’s Team Sprint and Men’s Kilometre Time Trial titles decided.

This afternoon, though, was all about finding the fastest four men’s quartets and the fastest four women pursuiters.  

Full results

trackcycling’s coverage of the 2013 World Track Championships is supported by V-Sprint

wcbanner2013-smalltrackcycling’s coverage of the 2013 World Track Championships is supported by V-Sprint

Men’s Team Pursuit

WM1 5590


The only drama in the qualfying session for the Men’s Team Pursuit came when the Russians lost a man to a crash in the opening kilometre – fastest at that point, the three remaining riders still managed to set what turned out to be a very creditable fifth fastest time on 4:04.840 – just a couple of tenths off the Spanish time of4:04.587. The Danish quarter of Lasse Norman Hansen, Caspr Folsach, Mathias Moller and Rasmus Christian Quuade set the early pace with a 4:00.841 which was good enough to get them in the Bronze Medal ride, but a shot at Gold always looked as though it would need a sub-four minute time.


The Australians opted for three parts experience and one part youth – adding Alexander Morgan to the formidable trio of Glenn O’Shea, Michael Hepburn and Alexander Edmondson – and it proved to be a pretty potent mix. They cruised in to the Final with a 3:59.325 with just Great Britain left to ride. And the Brits went for the same formula – adding Sam Harrison to the world beating combo of Steven Burke, Andy Tennant and Ed Clancy. They were ahead with a kilometre to go but slowed to join the Aussies in the Gold medal ride with a 3:59.784. Did they fade or ease off? We’ll find out this evening.


1 AUS Australia (Glenn O’SHEA, Alexander EDMONSON, Michael HEPBURN, Alexander MORGAN) 3:59.325
2 GBR Great Britain (Steven BURKE, Edward CLANCY, Samuel HARRISON, Andrew TENNANT) 3:59.784

3 DEN Denmark (Lasse Norman HANSEN, Casper FOLSACH, Mathias MOLLER, Rasmus Christian QUAADE) 4:00.841
4 ESP Spain 

Women’s Individual Pursuit


There were no real shocks in this afternoon’s other event, either – with Sarah Hammer of the USA clocking a 3:30.206 to cruise in to the final a full three seconds ahead of her nearest rival, Australian Amy Cure. Cure shaved a second off earlier leader Annette Edmonson’s 3:34.273 to drop her in to the Bronze medal ride, where she should secure a medal against Laura Brown of Canada who rode well against Cure in her heat but finished well beaten, 3 seconds off her rival’s pace. Last year’s Bronze medalist Caroline Ryan of Ireland just missed out on a medal ride in 5th place.


Women’s Individual Pursuit

1 Sarah HAMMER USA 3:30.206
2 Amy CURE AUS 3:33.366
3 Annette EDMONDSON AUS 3:34.273
4 Laura BROWN CAN 3:37.736

wcbanner2013-smalltrackcycling’s coverage of the 2013 World Track Championships is supported by V-Sprint


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here