Friday, May 24, 2024
HomeRevolutionReportsRevolution 38 - 1 December 2012

Revolution 38 – 1 December 2012



It looked as though Nelson might not have it all her own way this evening when she failed to score in the first sprint of the Girls Points Race. Lucy Shaw took the win for Rudy Project with Charlotte Broughton and Grace Garner second and third for Sky and Megan Barker fourth for Raleigh GAC. True to form, though, Nelson tookt he second sprint ahead of Face Partnership’s Abbie Dentus, Emily Haycox of Howies and Sophie Black of Rouleur.

She the repeated the feat, taking sprint 3 from Roberts, Elizabeth Holden of Maxgear Racing and Sophie Capewell of WD40. That left Nelson 5 points clear of Shaw heading in to the final sprint with Shaw’s needing to take the win on the line to deprive her rival of the victory overall. In the end, she failed to score with Garner taking the 5 points to clinch second overall from Shaw, with Hannah Blount of Rudy Project taking the three points, Lauren O’Brien of  NetApp Endura two and Ellie Dickinson of Maxgear the last point on offer.

Girls DHL Future Stars Points Race
1 NELSON Emily IG Sigmasport 6:34.377
2 GARNER Grace Sky Procycling
3 SHAW Lucy Rudy Project RT
4 BLOUNT Hannah Rudy Project RT
5 BROUGHTON Charlotte Sky Procycling
6 DENTUS Abbie FACE Partnership


In a very close Team Pursuit – ridden, unusually on drop handlebars – it was the GB team of Rowsell, Barker and Armitstead that started stronger but Vos, Pieters and van Dijk overhauled them and it was very close going in to the final lap. A strong finish by the British trio – urged on by the capacity crowd – saw them take the win by just under two tenths of a second.

Team Pursuit
1 Great Britain (ARMITSTEAD Elizabeth, ROWSELL Joanna, BARKER Elinor) 2:28.216
2 Netherlands (VOS Marianne, PIETERS Amy, van DIJK Ellen) 2:28.383


The GB Academy riders showed real skill and determination in the Devil with George Atkins of WD40, Dibben and Simon Yates of Maxgear all making it through to the last 6. The final sprint, though, was between Rowe and Downing and it was incredibly close on the line with the young Sky rider finally nicking it on the line.

Elite Men’s Devil take the Hindmost
1 ROWE Luke Sky Procycling
2 DOWNING Russell NetApp Endura
3 YATES Simon Maxgear Racing
4 DIBBEN Jon Rouleur
pha Condor Sharp

6 ATKINS George WD40


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here