Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeLatestGB Squad Named for Melbourne

GB Squad Named for Melbourne


British Cycling has today announced the GB team which will compete in the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Melbourne on the 4th of April.


Fresh from their success at the final round of the World Cup series in London, where they topped the medal table and broke two World Records in front of a sell-out home crowd, a team of 15 riders will travel to Australia including reigning World Champions Wendy Houvenaghel, Dani King and Laura Trott (Women’s Team Pursuit) plus Jason Kenny (Sprint).

As expected, the team is largely unchanged from the squad that performed so well in London – with the exception of the subsititution of Ross Edgar by young Philip Hindes – as predicted by Hindes’ V-Sprint team boss Jim Varnish to trackcycling in London.


Performance Director Dave Brailsford said: “The London World Cup was very positive for us in terms of performance and we’re looking to continue the momentum going into the World Championships. We have selected a very similar team to travel to the World Championships; the only difference is in the Men’s Sprint squad. In London, Ross Edgar was in the early stages of recovering from an injury and we think the best option for him now is to focus his training in the gym and on the road over the next few months and as such he won’t travel to Australia – this doesn’t mean we have ruled him out of selection for the Olympic Games. The sprint coaches also feel that Philip Hindes has shown great potential in training and therefore it would be good for his development to shadow the World Championships team this year. Overall, we’re going to Australia feeling confident, and we’re looking forward to competing one last time before the Olympic Games.”


Matt Crampton
Philip Hindes
Sir Chris Hoy
Jason Kenny

Victoria Pendleton
Jess Varnish

Men’s Endurance
Steven Burke
Ed Clancy
Pete Kennaugh
Ben Swift
Geraint Thomas

Women’s Endurance

Wendy Houvenaghel
Dani King
Joanna Rowsell
Laura Trott


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here