Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeWorld CupReportsTrack Cycling World Cup Classics 2011 - Manchester - Day 1 -...

Track Cycling World Cup Classics 2011 – Manchester – Day 1 – Morning


Competition at the Manchester Velodrome is under way with hot favourites Sir Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny of Great Britaiin and Kevin Sireau of France all safely through to the Semi Finals. The Brits haven’t had it all their own way, though and will have to face each other en route to the Final. The British Women’s Team Pursuit team qualified for the Final along with New Zealand and Geraint Thomas will face Rohan Dennis of Australia in the Men’s Individual Pursuit Final. And the Men’s Omnium competition kicked off with the flying lap.

Pictures and full results from Day 1

trackcycling’s coverage of the UCI Track Cycling World Cup Classics is sponsored by SL Carbons – The Fabric of your success


February 18 2011

trackcycling’s coverage of the UCI Track Cycling World Cup Classics is sponsored by SL Carbons – The Fabric of your success

Pictures and full results from Day 1

Men’s Sprint



Kevin Sireau shocked the home crowd at the Manchester Velodrome, becoming the first rider this World Cup season to break the magic 10 second barrier. His time of 9.983 was enough to drop Sir Chris Hoy into second place. Hoy had taken top spot a couple of minutes earlier from teammate Jason Kenny. The younger Sky Track Cycling rider had topped the leaderboard with a 10.049 until his team mate – who took to the boards staight after him – clocked 10.046.

On paper, Kenny’s first round heat against Germany’s Robert Forstemann was the toughest of the three, but in practice all three men cruised through to the Quarter Finals.

The Quarters – the first proper Match Sprints of the competition – saw Sireau face Teun Mulder of the Netherlands, Hoy against D’Almeida of France, Kenny against Zhang of China and Levy against Kitatsuru of Japan – whose qualifying run had been ruined when he clipped two of the marker bags on the exit from turn 4 and struggled to regain control of the bike.

The favourites had three rides available to them to ensure their progress, but all four won in two heats. British hopes of a 1-2 were dashed when Hoy was drawn against Kenny in the Semi Finals with Sireau facing Levy.

World Record : 9.572 Kevin Sireau France

30 May 2009 Moscow GP, Russia
World Champion : Gregory Bauge
Olympic Champion : Chris Hoy Great Britain

2010-11 World Cup Leader :
Kevin Sireau France

Semi Final Draw

Heat 1
Maximilian LEVY GER

Heat 2
Chris Hoy SKY

200m Qualifying

1 Kévin SIREAU FRA 9.983
2 Chris HOY SKY 10.046
3 Jason KENNY SKY 10.049
4 Maximilian LEVY GER 10.144
5 Scott SUNDERLAND JAY 10.235
6 Lei ZHANG CHN 10.256
7 Michaël D’ALMEIDA FRA 10.258
8 Damian ZIELINSKI POL 10.269
9 Teun MULDER NED 10.293
10 Azizulhasni AWANG YSD 10.310
11 Carsten BERGEMANN ERD 10.315
12 Tsubasa KITATSURU JPN 10.325
13 Andrii VYNOKUROV UKR 10.329
14 Robert FORSTEMANN ERD 10.333
15 Miao ZHANG CHN 10.363
16 Bernard ESTERHUIZEN RSA 10.386

Men’s Omnium


Shane Archbold of New Zealand leads the Men’s Omnium competition after the opening round, having clocked 13.291 seconds for his flying lap. Bryan Coquard of France was second – just 8 thousandths of a second behind him – with early leader Alois Kankovsky of the Czech Republic third, just 17 thousandths behind Coquard. Great Britain’s Ben Swift – who should shine in the bunch races and the Pursuit, currently lies 12th.

World Champion : Ed Clancy Great Britain
2010-11 World Cup Leader : Zachary Bell Canada

Round 1 – Flying Lap

1 Shane ARCHBOLD NZL 13.291
2 Bryan COQUARD FRA 13.299
3 Alois KANKOVSKY CZE 13.316
4 Tim VELDT NED 13.336

Women’s Team Pursuit Qualifying

A thrilling qualifying session saw Great Britain’s second string 100% ME squad of Katie Colclough, Dani King and Laura Trott lead for most of the session with a 3:23.355. They were knocked off to
p spot by the current World Record Holders – the US Ouch Pro Cycling squad of Sarah Hammer, Lauren Tomayo and Dotsie Bausch. They weren’t on top form, though and could only manage a 3:23.048.

Shortly afterwards, the Netherlands – represented by Kirsten Wild, Vera Koedooder and Ellen van Dijk squeeed in between the Ouch squad and the British girls with a 3:23.179. The Great Britain trio of Wendy Houvenaghel, Joanna Rowsell and Sarah Storey were up next – and clinched a pace in the final with a 3:20.962. They stayed on top of the leaderboard while the the other final berth and second fastest time went to the New Zealand squad who set the World Record in Copenhagen in March in the Bronze medal ride, only to have the US girls take it off them two months later.

The Kiwis are desparate to get the record back and their time of 3:20.988 suggests both squads are in with a shout in tonight’s Final.

World Record : 3m 19.569s USA (Sarah Hammer, Lauren Tamayo, Dotsie Bausch)
12 May 2010 Aguascalientes, Mexico
World Champions : Australia (Ashlee Ankudinoff, Sarah Kent, Josephine Tomic)
World Cup Leader 2010-11 : New Zealand

1 Great Britain (Wendy HOUVENAGHEL, Joanna ROWSELL, Sarah STOREY) 3:20.962
2 New Zealand (Lauren ELLIS, Jaime NIELSEN, Alison SHANKS) 3:20.988
3 OUCH PRO CYCLING (Sarah HAMMER, Dotsie BAUSCH, Lauren TAMAYO) 3:23.048
4 Netherlands (Kirsten WILD, Vera KOEDOODER, Ellen VAN DIJK) 3:23.179

Men’s 4000m Individual Pursuit Qualifying


The Men’s Individual Pursuit was removed from the Olympics for 2012 and the Great Britain team, in line with both their team philosophy and, to an extent, UK Sport funding, shifted its focus elsewhere. But with Jack Bobridge breaking Chris Boardman’s 11 year old record – which many thought would never be broken post-superman position – a gauntlet has been thrown down.

And how Geraint Thomas took it up! But for about 10 metres, he would have caught his opponent – King Lok Cheung of Hong Kong – not once, but twice. His time of 4:16.883 was quick enough to make the final, but still over a second off Rohan Dennis of Australia’s mark of 4:15.519. Another cracking final is on the cards.

World Record : 4m 10.534s Jack Bobridge Australia
2 February 2011 Sydney, Australia
World Champion : Taylor Phinney USA
Olympic Champion : Bradley Wiggins Great Britain

1 Rohan DENNIS AUS 4:15.519
2 Geraint THOMAS GBR 4:16.883
3 Marc RYAN NZL 4:21.637
4 Jenning HUIZENGA NED 4:22.805

{bonckowall source=”1″ fkey=”album” fvalue=”72157626023094637″ itemGUID=”1″ }{/bonckowall}

Pictures and full results from Day 1




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here