Thursday, June 13, 2024
HomeNationalBritish National Track Championships 2009 - Day 1

British National Track Championships 2009 – Day 1


The 2009 British National Championships began in Manchester today with Men and Women’s Sprint Time Trials. While the Women’s events were dominated by the Sprinters, it was the Endurance riders who were to the fore in the kilo.

Pictures by Chris Maher

Victoria Pendleton, Jess Varnish & Becky James - 2009 British National 500m Champion (C) Chris MaherThe first title of the championships went to form with Victoria Pendleton taking a comfortable win in the 500m Time Trial.

Sarah Storey clocked 38.074 seconds to set a new British Paracycling record, before the Academy youngsters took control of the leaderboard. With just Pendleton left to ride, Helen Scott sat in the Bronze Medal position with a time of 36.294 seconds, a quarter of a second behind Junior World Champion Rebecca James with Jess Varnish almost a second ahead with a time of 35.154 seconds.

Pendleton, riding for Team Sky+ HD, took another second off that mark to take the Gold with a time of 34.262.

Women’s 500m Time Trial

Gold Victoria PENDLETON Team Sky+ HD  34.262s
Silver Jess VARNISH Halesowen A & CC 35.154
Bronze Rebecca JAMES Abergavenny Road Club 36.012
4 Helen SCOTT Halesowen A & CC 36.294
5 Charline JOINER City of Edinburgh RC 37.116
6 Alison CHISHOLM Edinburgh RC 37.646
7 Jenny DAVIS City of Edinburgh RC 37.857
8 Sarah STOREY VC St Raphael 38.074
9 Emma BAIRD BC Private Member 38.503
10 Janet BIRKMYRE XRT – 38.537
11 Rachel TURNER VC St Raphael 39.407
12 Cassie GLEDHILL XRT – 39.476
13 Cheryl OWENS GS Metro 41.789
14. Louise Satherley Yasumitsu Schlapp 41.989
15. Ruth Middleton East London Vélo 43.485

Steven Burke - 2009 British National Kilo Champion (C) Chris MaherThe endurance riders dominated the opening men’s Sprint event, with Steven Burke taking an impressive win in the Kilometre Time Trial. Let’s not forget, this is the event that man-mountain Chris Hoy made his own – and four of the top five places went to endurance specialists.

Andy Fenn had shown the way early on, the first rider to break the 1.10 barrier – and comfortably under, clocking 1.05.812. Andy Tennant smashed that time, taking the lead with a time of 1.04.741 and Ed Clancy took another two seconds off the benchmark time with a 1.02.713.

Sprinter David Daniell was looking good for Gold until his last lap, fading on the run in to slot in to second place half a second down on Clancy’s time. It was 100% Me’s Burke that took the title, though, shaving a tenth off the Halfords Bike Hut man’s time.

Men’s 1km Time Trial

Gold Steven BURKE 100% ME 1.02.604
Silver Ed CLANCY Team Halfords Bikehut 1.02.713
Bronze David DANIELL Cleveland Wheelers CC 1.03.235
4 Andrew TENNANT Team Halfords Bikehut 1.04.741
5 Andrew FENN 100% ME 1.05.812
6 Bruce CROALL City of Edinburgh RC 1.06.167
7 Jody CUNDY 1.06.414
8 Alex DOWSETT 100% ME 1.06.498
9 Ben ELLIOT VC St Raphael 1.06.850
10 Mark CHRISTIAN 100% ME 1.07.133
11 Richard LAMBERT Cottingham Coureurs RT 1.11.167
12 Thomas POWELL Newcastle RC 1.11.187
13 Rowan ELLIOT VC St Raphael 1.12.204
14 Joseph WOOD BC Private Member 1.12.284
15 Joseph ALLEN BC Private Member 1.12.336
16 Ben McCULLOUGH YOUNG City of Edinburgh 1.12.247
17 Simon WARREN Norwood Paragon CC 1.12.845
18 Terry BYRNE BC Paracycling Dev Prog 1.13.759
19 Jon-Allen BUTTERWORTH BC Paracycling Dev 1.14.346
20 Oliver LOUGHEED Manchester Whlrs Club 1.15.574
21 James VINER Twickenham CC 1.15.709
22 Callum WATSON City of Edinburgh RC 1.16.244
23 Neil LAING Edinburgh RC 1.18.699


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here