Tuesday, May 28, 2024
HomeYouth eventsReportsBritish Youth National Track Championships 2009 - Day 1 - 16 August

British Youth National Track Championships 2009 – Day 1 – 16 August


Day 1 Results.  Pictures here.

Under 12 Girls Omnium


Grace Garner of the Leicestershire Road Club got off to a steady but inspectacular start in the 1500m pursuit portion of the Girls Omnium event, setting fourth best time with a 2.14.921, nearly two seconds behind Emily Haycox of Maindy Flyers and a second behind Haycox’ team mate Megan Barker and three tenths off 3rd place Paide Milward of Lyme Road Club.

It was Haycox, Barker and Garner who qualified automatically for the semi-finals of the Sprint, with Amy Barnes (VC Jubilee), Sophie Capewll (Lichfield CCC) and Molly Maunders (Newport Velo) joining them through the repechages. It was Garner and the two Maindy girls who went through to the final, though, with Garner taking the win from Barker and Haycox.

Going in to the final event it couldn’t have been closer with Barker and Haycox tied on 4 points and Garner in third on 5. Garner set the pace with 41.439s in the 500m Time Trial, leaving a nail biting final heat as Barker and Haycox went head to head in the final heat. In the end neither came close to Garner’s time, though, and the East Midlander took the title with Barker taking the Silver and Haycox Bronze.

Gold Grace GARNER Leicestershire Road Club
Silver Megan BARKER Maindy Flyers
Bronze Emily HAYCOX Maindy Flyers

1500m Pursuit

1 Emily HAYCOX Maindy Flyers 2.13.101
2 Megan BARKER Maindy Flyers 2.13.963
3 Paige MILWARD Lyme Road Club 2.14.614


1 Grace GARNER Leicestershire Road Club
2 Megan BARKER Maindy Flyers
3 Emily HAYCOX Maindy Flyers

500m Time Trial

1 Grace GARNER Leicestershire Road Club 41.439
2 Megan BARKER Maindy Flyers 42.784
3 Emily HAYCOX Maindy Flyers 43.040

Under 12 Boys Omnium


Gold Joel PARTINGTON Eastlands Velo
Silver David COUCH Palmer Park Velo
Bronze Dylan CORDUKES Newport Velo

1500m Pursuit

1 Joel PARTINGTON Eastlands Velo 2.12.222
2 Joseph FRY Welwyn Wheelers 2.13.690
3 Dylan CORDUKES Newport Velo 2.13.800


1 Joel PARTINGTON Eastlands Velo
2 David COUCH Palmer Park Velo
3 Joseph FRY Welwyn Wheelers

500m Time Trial

1 David Couch Palmer Park Velo 41.348
2 Joel Partington Eastlands Velo 42.016
3 Dylan Cordukes Newport Velo 43.027

Under 16 2km Pursuit


There was a buzz before the first riders had set off in the heats of the Under 16 2km Pursuit with rumours flying around that Jonathan Dibben of DHCyclesport.co.uk and Rob Lambton of Brooks Cycles were both aiming not only at the National title but also at Sam Harrison’s incredible 2.16 National record set at last year’s Championships.

It was Lambton’s team mate Declan Byrne who set the early pace, clocking a 2.26.62 in the second heat and staying on top of the leaderboard for the majority of the session.

In the second session, though, he was eclipsed by Oliver Rossi (Team Corridori), Josh Papworth (Wyre Forest CC), and Jack Penrice (Sportcity Velo) but hung on to 8th to qualify for the Minor Final. Penrice, Papworth and Rossi were separated by just 0.07 seconds, half a second up on Byrne.

The Bronze medal ride would be between Owain Doull of Cardiff Ajax CC who set a blistering 2.19.99 and Patrick Galbraith of Velo Ecosse who clocked 2.25.52. The ride for Gold, as expected, was between Dibben and Lambton, with the South Coast rider qualfying slightly the stronger wit a 2.18.52 ahead of Lambton’s 2.18.74.

In the opening laps of the final it was, as expected, almost inpossible to separate the two but it was Dibben who pulled away to take the title – but not the record – with a 2.18.45. Lambton clocked 2.19.15 to take the Silver and Doull’s qualifying pace held up, taking the Bronze with a 2.19.41.

Gold Jonathan DIBBEN DHCyclesport.co.uk
Silver Robert LAMBTON Brooks Cycles
Bronze Owain DOULL Cardiff Ajax CC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here