Saturday, May 18, 2024
HomeTrack LeaguesReportsReading Track League 6 July 2009

Reading Track League 6 July 2009


Rain again – but only for the last 6 laps!

Numbers were down both in the youths and seniors probably due to the weather – several riders said they had driven through heavy rain and thunder – and the number of riders still recovering from their exertions at the Masters National Track Championships in Newport.

Full results

It was a successful weekend for Track League regulars with two bringing home two National Champions jerseys – Bryan Taylor (3km Pursuit and Scratch) and Janet Birkmyre (500m Time Trial and Scratch) – and two more taking a title each – Lee Povey (Sprint), and Jayne Paine (Points). Paine completed the set with a Silver in the Scratch and Bronze in the 2km Pursuit. Birkmyre led the medal haul, though, taking Silver medals in the Sprint and the 2km Pursuit and a Bronze in the Points race. Povey also picked up a Silver in the 1km time trial, Ian Greenstreet picked up a Bronze for the 3km Pursuit and a Silver in the Scratch and regular Reading Track League report writer David Jack took the Bronze in the Sprint.


Jayne Paine (centre) and Janet Birkmyre on the podium at the National Masters Track Championships

Back to Monday night’s racing, which started on time with a Youth Points race. As Will Macke decided to ride now with the senior ‘B’s there were no other Under 16’s. In the Under 14s it was George Withers followed by Jason Pitt and Dan Lansley. And in the Under 12s first was Reg Pay followed by Joseph Linehan.


A cagey start to one of the Youth Sprint Heats

In the Under 14 Sprint final, Devil and 10 lap Scratch races it was again George Withers followed by Jason Pitt and in Under 12s Reg Pay led home Joseph Linehan each time.


Flat out for the line in the Youth Sprint Finals

The first Senior race was a Hare and Hounds where the ‘B’ riders really worked together and unusually they were not caught. First across the line was Dan Maslin followed by Trevor Bradbury, now recovered from his accident at Hillingdon earlier in the season, and Donal Linehan. First lady was Under 16 Harriet Owen followed by Cassie Gledhill.


The Senior A riders work hard to chase down the Bs in the Hare and Hounds – but to no avail

The Senior Devil ended with two riders left at the bell and it was John Paul who was across the line in front of Bryan Taylor.


Battling for position in the Senior Devil Take the Hindmost

The Senior Unknown distance was hotly contested on the final lap with the first three being ‘A’ riders Steve Legg, Rob King and Martin Dawkins. The ‘B’ race was won by Rikki Pankhurst followed by Will Macke and Donal Linehan and the first three ladies were Harriett Owen, Cassie Gledhill and Emily Hogge.

The ‘A’ senior sprint final was very close with Lee Povey just beating team mate John Paul . The ‘B’ final was also close with Rikki Pankhurst first over the line followed by Dan Maslin and Donal Linehan. In the ladies it was Harriet Owen again, from Cassie Gledhill and Emily Hogge.


Newly crowned Masters National Champion Lee Povey begins his run round the outside of his team mate John Paul to take the A Sprint final

The final event the AW Cycles 20k Endurance race also incorporated the British Cycling Central Region 20k Championship with eight riders entered. It started off quite slowly with any action coming from Ian Greenstreet, Harriet Owen and Will Macke on a few occasions. With six laps to go there were a few spots of rain and it gradually got harder over the final laps and on the sprint for the line it was Steve Legg from Martin Dawkins, and Ian Greenstreet – who also took the medals in the Central Division Championship. First ‘B’ rider was Trevor Bradbury followed by Gavin Spiers and Chris Macleod. The only lady to finish – Under 16 Harriet Owen – was in the bunch finish at the end.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here