Tuesday, July 23, 2024
HomeTrack LeaguesReportsReading Track League 22 June 2009

Reading Track League 22 June 2009


Warm weather… Hot racing

A top night of racing at Palmer Park saw high speed thrills, with no spills action on a warm and clear evening.

A 10 lap Hare & Hounds started the action with riders itching to get underway and it was local ex-rower Nick English who produced a great final burst to get away and from the charging pack.

Nick English leading the Hare and Hounds early on

The Keirin competition, now a regular event at Palmer Park, brought out the Sprinters again and with the Derny controlling the pace for a lap and a half, releasing the groups 300 metres out, it is always the quickest to make their move who profit.

In the Senior A’s final it was Rob Drinkwater who attacked first and with everything he had, straight off the derny and with John Paul biding his time , he closed to Drinkwater and with Sam Serruya on his wheel, accelerated for the line to win comfortably from Serruya with Drinkwater holding on for third.
John Paul winning the Senior A’s Keirin from a chasing Sam Serruya and Rob Drinkwater

The Senior B’s saw a hug effort from local bike shop mechanic and bike historian Rikki Pankhurst, and he looked for all the betting money to have it sewn up but he was undone by fast finishing taxi driver, Dave Dentus who caught him down the home straight and they raced neck and neck for the line.
Dentus, with the greater momentum, hit the line first by a good half wheel.

Dave Dentus, in Red and white, pipping Rikki Pankhurst for the Senior B’s Keirin victory

Emma Patterson, on the right, winning the womens Keirin

In the Womens Keirin final it was Emma Patterson who had the wheel of the derny but was challenged closely for the dernys slipstream by Emily Hogge. When the derny pulled off the pace was steady but when Cassie Gledhill attacked over top of Hogge, Patterson responded and held Gledhill up just enough to be able to force her the long way round the banking and this gave Patterson the momentum to hold Gledhill and the fast finishing Natalie Hill off all the way to the line.

In the rest of the Senior Endurance races it was Bryan Taylor who took wins in the A’s Points and Unknown Distance and then when it came to the AW Cycles 20km Endurance event it was Taylor who marked almost every move and finally finished off his challengers with a burst of speed in the final lap that had him finish alone, with the field sprint won by Nick Abraham followed closely by Rob King.

Best rides of the day though went to Harvey Watson and Max Stedman, both Under14’s, who were able to finish the 20km’s on the same lap and in the second bunch, behind Bryan Taylor… awesome ride guys!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here