Monday, July 15, 2024
HomeTrack LeaguesReportsWelwyn Track League 8 May 2009

Welwyn Track League 8 May 2009


Despite the strong blustery wind the riders at this weeks Welwyn Track League provided some close racing in all categories.

Tony Gibb made a clean sweep of the 4 senior events but was pushed hard by Bryan Taylor in the Block Handicap where the field of 25 riders came together with 3 laps remaining. A close finish in the Devil went to Tony Gibb edging out George Olive by inches.

Tom Gallacher won all three Senior B races with positive riding but was pushed hard by fellow Welwyn Wheelers riders and Ian Coles (North Road). Tom Gallachers performance  gains him promotion to the senior A League.

Breakaway attempts in the  senior 10 mile were difficult to establish in the windy conditions and there were thirty riders remaining as the field entered the final lap – Tony Gibb was the comfortable winner from Bryan Taylor and John Mclelland.

In the Youth AB series Alan Trolove picked up victories in the Block Pursuit and Points race while Cameron Howard

used his sprinting powers to take the opening 5 lap scratch. In the 5 lap handicap the scratch riders caught the limit riders in the last few metres with George Farrel winning by inches

The three Welwyn riders Joseph Fry, Archie Wishart and Will Street took the top three places in each event

The largest youth group CD shared the spoils in the opening races between Sophie Scott, Adam Kemp and Tom Durkin with Adam Kemp the runaway winner of the closing 4 lap Handicap. Smallest rider in the group Abigail Coles gained a cheer for third place in the points race.

Full results


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here