The evening session saw a capcity crowd treated to three hours of full-on racing – opening with the Women’s Elimination Race. The last four riders in the mix were Hayley Jones of Team USN, King and Trott from Wiggle Honda and Chulkova.

Jones was the first to go, followed by King, leaving Trott and Chulkova in the final head-to-head. The crowd had come expecting Trott to win the ‘Devil’ – and they weren’t disappointed.


Rudy Project Racing Team’s Lucy Shaw opened the Hoy Bikes Future Stars Girls competition with a win in the Six Lap Dash from Sophie Capewell and her sister Emily – both riding for Team Sportscover.


It was Sky’s Luke Rowe who took the Men’s Elimination race from Points Race winner Mould. They’d shaken off the persistent Doull and Christian Grasmann of Rudy Project Racing Team to set up the last lap battle. 


 Joe Truman of Rapha Condor JLT spent the summer mixing it with senior Sprinters on the outdoor tracks and kicked off his indoor winter season with a win in the Hoy Bikes Future Stars Boys Points Race – taking the first and last points. Sky’s Karl Baillie took the second sprint and crossed the finish line second to finish two points back in second with Joey Walker who took third, having taken the third sprint. 


Having won the Future Stars three years in a row, Emily Kay moved up to the Senior competition and carried on where she left off. She took victory in the UCI Scratch Race from Olaberria, Trott and King.  


The 1km Madison Time Trial has been getting quicker and quicker throughout the field – with 7 pairs under a minute in the opening round – although Sir Chris Hoy and Arnaud Tournant’s three year old record remains untroubled.

Rapha Condor JLT’s Ed Clancy and Oilver Wood took the first win of the year with a 56.001 – three tenths ahead of Owian Doull and Steven Burke of the Telegraph Allstars and half a second faster thhan Luke Rowe and Jon Dibben of Team Sky.


 The second event in the Hoy Bikes Future Stars Girls competition was the Scratch Race and this time Shaw and Sophie Capewell had to settle for second and third with Team USN’s Megan Barker taking the win.


Phil Hindes took the third-fourth Final from Lewis Oliva and Jason Kenny opened his winter campaign with a controlled win over Matt Crampton.


 Truman took his second win of the night in the Six Lap Dash – guranteeing that he would finish the night at the top of the Hoy Bikes Future Stars Boys competition – with Jack Carlin of Rudy Project Racing Team in second and Tom Rotherham of Rouleur third. 


 Sophie Capewell finally went one better and took a win in the Girls Points Race – a win and a second place enough to put her on clear on 8 points with the other sprint winners all tied on 5 points. Bethany Taylor of Rapha Condor JLT took the final sprint, which gave her second place ahead of Sky’s Grace Garner who took the penultimate sprint and finished ahead of Jessie Ansell of Rudy Project Racing Team on the last lap to clinch third.


 Dani Khan showed every sign of making a smooth transition to the senior Sprint squad, edging out Katy Marchant to take the third-fourth Final. Jess Varnish took the overall win, beating World Champion Becky James by half a bike length in the Final.


 Joel Partington of Sky took the third and final Hoy Bikes Future Stars Boys race of the evening, beating Joe Holt in the final sprint in the Scratch Race with Jack Carlin of Rudy Project Racing Team.


 Ed Clancy completed a good day’s work with a win in the final UCI event of the evening – the Men’s Scratch Race. Steven Burke of the Telegraph Allstars took second with Jake Ragan third for Team Sportscover. 


Truman’s two wins put him at the top of the leaderboard of the Hoy Bikes Future Stars Boys competition – 14 points clear of Sky’s Baillie with Team USN’s Holt four points behind them. Team Sportscover’s Sophie Capewell’s win and two second places gave her a narrow 3 point lead over double winner Shaw of Rudy Project Racing Team.


 The Telegraph Allstars lead after the opening round thanks to the efforts of Owain Doull and Steven Burke. They’re five points clear of Rapha Condor JLT where Ed Clancy and Ollie Wood racked up the points.


Jason Kenny made it a Sprint double with a win in the Keirin – ahead of Phil Hindes and Matt Crampton.


In the final action of the evening it was Dani Khan who caused something of an upset, beating Jess Varnish and Rosie Blount to the Keirin win with Becky James back in fourth place.


Similar Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.